Search:
Location Search   Member Search
  Browse   Categories   Games J... » Online - Websites    

Forum
Forum
Discuss and share thoughts and interests
Page 2 out of 2 | <<<12>>>
Selling your soul for traffic
Thanks for the comments. To be clear, I'm not talking about sacrificing your ideals or writing an opinion you don't think is valid. It's more a matter of being sensationalist, or covering a story that wouldn't interest you if it weren't for all the interest that other people are taking in it.

1 topics   4 posts
I write for a site that has that type of "reward" system. I've become incredibly discouraged lately, for the very reasons everyone stated. To the point where I have cut way back on my production for them.

Just got sick of seeing the good articles from writers being overlooked, and thus underpaid, over and over.

3 topics   9 posts
I probably come from a different perspective than the rest of you, as my background is actually in Economics and not as much Journalism. I’ve also served more on the business end of sites than as freelancer. So from that angle I can see why a site, specifically a smaller site that has a variable income would choose to go that route. Personally, I’m not a huge fan of it, as like Jared has said it can lead to sensationalist ideas, as I have seen firsthand in the past. I think it is up to the editorial team to make sure that quality isn’t sacrificed for traffic, as the writer has a moral hazard on that one.

That’s why everywhere I’ve worked where I have had influence on the pay scale has offered as close to a fair wage (flat rate) as we can (extremely close to our expected break even point). Then, when that income happens to come out higher than we expect we like to pass it back on to the writers. Thus, we do track traffic they bring in and that does affect possible bonuses.