Search:
Location Search   Member Search
  Browse   Categories   Games J... » Online - Websites    

Forum
Forum
Discuss and share thoughts and interests
Thoughts on my website/advice?
Hi everyone. I'm new to this forum/the whole videogame journalism beat. I've just started up a website at www.vigigames.com. First, I'd like to hear some of your opinions on what we're doing/what we're doing wrong (ha ha).

My question is, I suppose, how did you get people other than your friends to start reading your website? We've been putting out a good deal of content for the past two months now, and I'm not very good at self-promotion.

(Also, if any of your sites have a sort of similar focus and you want to be internet pals, we'd totally be down with that.)

Matthew.

1 topics   5 posts
First impression is really good - clean design, great tag-line. I also dig the "Playing this week" section; simple but effective.

As for how getting people other than your friends to start reading, the number one priority is always the quality of the content. No matter how many people you can attract, they will only stay and come back if the content is good.

You may want to try N4G, using Twitterfeed to feed your Twitter, organize contests, ...

5 topics   52 posts
Hey, thanks so much! I hadn't actually heard of N4G before, I'm going to check it out now.

1 topics   5 posts
I appreciate your goals. I'd love to be doing something closer to real criticism myself. Instead, I'm working for a site that shamelessly follows the old buyer's guide print model, and is platform-specific to boot.

It's a nice site. It looks sharp, and the articles aren't the usual crap; it makes me very happy.

I wish I had some advice for you, but I can say that you have one more feed subscriber, and I'll certainly be sharing items in Google Reader and Buzz!

2 topics   3 posts
Thanks for the compliments! If it's not too impertinent to ask/if it won't get you in any trouble, what site do you write for?

1 topics   5 posts